Local, Movie News

“Waiting For Superman” and “Winter’s Bone” Big Winners at 2010 Gotham Awards

Posted: November 30, 2010 at 1:57 am   /   by   /   comments (0)

While they might not have as big of an impact as the Independent Spirit Awards, the 20th Gotham Awards still have a significant stance in the New York and independent film scene.  They are among the first to give out their awards, and many of their winners have gone on to win big from critics groups and other awards shows. This year a Missouri based film, Winter’s Bone, came home big with Best Feature and Best Ensemble. Last year the winner of Best Feature was The Hurt Locker, which went on to win Best Picture. Can Winter’s Bone recreate the same feat?

Winners are highlighted below, let us know what you think in the comments!


“Waiting for Superman”


“Black Swan”
Darren Aronofsky, director; Mike Medavoy, Arnold W. Messer, Brian Oliver, Scott Franklin producers (Fox Searchlight Pictures)
“Blue Valentine”
Derek Cianfrance, director; Jamie Patricof, Lynette Howell, Alex Orlovsky, producers (The Weinstein Company)

“The Kids Are All Right”
Lisa Cholodenko, director;  Gary Gilbert, Jeffrey Levy-Hinte, Celine Rattray, Jordan Horowitz, Daniela Taplin Lundberg, Philippe Hellmann, producers (Focus Features)

“Let Me In”
Matt Reeves, director; Simon Oakes, Alex Brunner, Guy East, Tobin Armbrust,  Donna Gigliotti, John Nording, Carl Molinder, producers (Overture Films)

“Winter’s Bone”
Debra Granik, director; Anne Rosellini, Alix Madigan-Yorkin, producers (Roadside Attractions)


“12th & Delaware”
Heidi Ewing and Rachel Grady, directors/producers (HBO Documentary Films)

“Inside Job”
Charles Ferguson, director; Charles Ferguson, Audrey Marrs, producers (Sony Pictures Classics)

“The Oath”
Laura Poitras, director/producer (Zeitgeist Films and American Documentary/POV)

“Public Speaking”
Martin Scorsese, director; Martin Scorsese, Graydon Carter, Margaret Bodde, Fran Lebowitz, producers (HBO Documentary Films)

Lucien Castaing-Taylor and Ilisa Barbash, directors; Ilisa Barbash, producer (Cinema Guild)


“The Kids Are All Right”
Annette Bening, Julianne Moore, Mark Ruffalo, Mia Wasikowska, Josh Hutcherson (Focus Features)

“Life During Wartime”
Shirley Henderson, Ciarán Hinds, Allison Janney, Michael Lerner, Chris Marquette, Rich Pecci, Charlotte Rampling, Paul Reubens, Ally Sheedy, Dylan Riley Snyder, Renée Taylor, Michael Kenneth Williams (IFC Films)

“Please Give”
Catherine Keener, Amanda Peet, Oliver Platt, Rebecca Hall, Ann Guilbert, Lois Smith, Sarah Steele, Thomas Ian Nicholas (Sony Pictures Classics)

“Tiny Furniture”
Lena Dunham, Laurie Simmons, Grace Dunham, Rachel Howe, Merritt Wever, Amy Seimetz, Alex Karpovsky, David Call,  Jemima Kirke, Sarah Sophie Flicker, Garland Hunter, Isen Hunter (IFC Films)

“Winter’s Bone”
Jennifer Lawrence, John Hawkes, Dale Dickey, Lauren Sweetser, Garret Dillahunt, Kevin Breznahan
(Roadside Attractions)


John Wells for “The Company Men” (The Weinstein Company)
Kevin Asch for “Holy Rollers” (First Independent Pictures)
Glenn Ficarra and John Requa for “I Love You Phillip Morris” (Roadside Attractions)
Tanya Hamilton for “Night Catches Us” (Magnolia Pictures)
Lena Dunham for “Tiny Furniture” (IFC Films)


Prince Adu in “Prince of Broadway” (Elephant Eye Films)
Ronald Bronstein in “Daddy Longlegs” (IFC Films)
Greta Gerwig in “Greenberg” (Focus Features)
Jennifer Lawrence in “Winter’s Bone” (Roadside Attractions)
John Ortiz in “Jack Goes Boating” (Overture Films)


“Kati with an i”
Robert Greene, director; Douglas Tirola, Susan Bedusa, producers

Mike Ott, director; Frederick Thornton, Laura Ragsdale, Sierra Leoni, producers

“On Coal River”
Francine Cavanaugh and Adams Wood, directors; Jillian Elizabeth, Adams Wood, Francine Cavanaugh, producers

“Summer Pasture”
Lynn True and Nelson Walker, directors/producers; Tsering Perlo, co-director/co-producer

“The Wolf Knife”
Laurel Nakadate, director/producer