Local, Movie News

“The King’s Speech”, “Inception”, and “Black Swan” Top St. Louis Film Critics Nominations

Posted: December 12, 2010 at 11:21 pm   /   by   /   comments (1)

After a long day of deliberation, members of the St. Louis Film Critics (including Kevin and myself from ReviewSTL), selected a number of films for our yearly awards. Topping the nominations at seven a piece were The King’s Speech, Inception, and Black Swan. Following closely with a number of nominations were The Social Network, The Fighter, and 127 Hours.

I feel we have a good slate of movies to choose from going into the next week where we will pick our final winners. What do you think? Is there anything you think we missed? Let us know in the comments!

Nominees for 2010 SLFC Awards

Best Film

Black Swan
The Fighter
The King’s Speech
The Social Network

Best Director
Darren Aronofsky (Black Swan)
Danny Boyle (127 Hours)
David Fincher (The Social Network)
Tom Hooper (The King’s Speech)
Christopher Nolan (Inception)

Best Actor
Javier Bardem (Biutiful)
Jeff Bridges (True Grit)
Jesse Eisenberg (The Social Network)
Colin Firth (The King’s Speech)
James Franco (127 Hours)

Best Actress

Natalie Portman (Black Swan)
Naomi Watts (Fair Game)
Jennifer Lawrence (Winter’s Bone)
Nicole Kidman (Rabbit Hole)
Noomi Rapace (The Girl who Played with Fire)

Best Supporting Actor
Christian Bale (The Fighter)
John Hawkes (Winter’s Bone)
Jeremy Renner (The Town)
Sam Rockwell (Conviction)
Geoffery Rush – King’s Speech

Best Supporting Actress
Amy Adams (The Fighter)
Helena Bonham Carter (The King’s Speech)
Barbara Hershey (Black Swan)
Melissa Leo (The Fighter)
Hailee Steinfeld (True Grit)

Best Cinematography (photography, not special effects)

127 Hours (Enrique Chediak and Anthony Dod Mantle)
Black Swan (Matthew Libatique)
Inception (Wally Pfister)
The King’s Speech (Danny Cohen)
True Grit (Roger Deakins)

Best Music (soundtrack or score)
Black Swan
The Fighter
Social Network

Best Visual Effects

Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows, Part 1
Scott Pilgrim vs The World
Tron Legacy

Best Original Screenplay
Black Swan (Mark Heyman, Andres Heinz and John McLaughlin)
Biutiful (Alejandro González Iñárritu, Armando Bo and Nicolas Giacobone)
The Fighter (Scott Silver, Paul Tamasy, Eric Johnson and Keith Dorrington)
Inception (Christopher Nolan)
The King’s Speech (David Seidler)

Best Adapted Screenplay

127 Hours (Danny Boyle and Simon Beaufoy)
Scott Pilgrim vs the World (Edgar Wright and Michael Bacall)
The Social Network (Aaron Sorkin)
True Grit (Ethan Coen and Joel Coen)
Winter’s Bone (Debra Granik and Anne Rosellini)

Best Foreign-Language Film

The Girl With The Dragon Tattoo
North Face
A Prophet

Best Documentary

A Film Unfinished
The Tillman Story
Waiting for Superman
Waking Sleeping Beauty

Best Comedy

Easy A
I Love You Phillip Morris
Jack Ass 3D
Scott Pilgrim vs the World

Best Animated Film
Despicable Me
How To Train Your Dragon
Legend of the Guardians of Ga’Hoole
Toy Story 3

Best Artistic/Creative Film (for excellence in art-house cinema)

Scott Pilgrim vs. The World
Winter’s Bone
Kings Speech
Trash Humpers

Moving the Medium Forward (for technical/artistic innovative that advances the medium)

127 Hours
Kick Ass
Scott Pilgrim vs. The World
Toy Story 3
Uncle Boonmee Who Can Recall His Past Lives

Special Merit (for best scene, cinematic technique or other memorable aspect or moment)

Will be announced shortly