Local, Movie News, Television

2010 Oscar Winners (82nd Annual Academy Awards) – ‘Hurt Locker’ and Bigelow Receive Top Honors

Posted: March 8, 2010 at 2:05 am   /   by   /   comments (2)
2010 Oscar Winner Best Director Kathryn Bigelow

2010 Oscar Winner for Best Director, Kathryn Bigelow

The 82nd Annual Academy Awards were truly memorable last night.  The Oscars were a huge win for director Kathryn Bigelow, and her incredible film “The Hurt Locker.”  Both she and the movie took home the two most prestigious awards of the evening –  Best Picture and Best Director. She is now the first ever female to win for best director.

Many are calling the decision to award Bigelow and ‘Hurt Locker’ both awards is robbing James Cameron of what he rightfully deserves, due to the epic success of AVATAR – the highest grossing film of all time.  The movie, which has earned over $2.5 billion worldwide at this point, won Oscars for best art direction, cinematography, and visual effects last night.  In my opinion, those awards are exactly what the film deserved to win.

Here is the complete list of 2010 Oscar Winners:

Best Picture

  • The Hurt Locker

    Kathryn Bigelow, Mark Boal, Nicolas Chartier and Greg Shapiro

Actor in a Leading Role

  • Jeff Bridges

    Crazy Heart

Actor in a Supporting Role

  • Christoph Waltz

    Inglourious Basterds

Actress in a Leading Role

  • Sandra Bullock

    The Blind Side

Actress in a Supporting Role

  • Mo’Nique

    Precious: Based on the Novel ‘Push’ by Sapphire

Animated Feature Film

  • Up

    Pete Docter

Art Direction

  • Avatar

    Rick Carter and Robert Stromberg (Art Direction); Kim Sinclair (Set Decoration)


  • Avatar

    Mauro Fiore

Costume Design

  • The Young Victoria

    Sandy Powell


  • The Hurt Locker

    Kathryn Bigelow

Documentary Feature

  • The Cove

    Louie Psihoyos and Fisher Stevens

Documentary Short

  • Music by Prudence

    Roger Ross Williams and Elinor Burkett

Film Editing

  • The Hurt Locker

    Bob Murawski and Chris Innis

Foreign Language Film

  • The Secret in Their Eyes (El Secreto de Sus Ojos)


    Directed by Juan José Campanella


  • Star Trek

    Barney Burman, Mindy Hall and Joel Harlow

Music (Original Score)

  • Up

    Michael Giacchino

Music (Original Song)

  • Crazy Heart

    “The Weary Kind (Theme from Crazy Heart)”

    Music and Lyric by Ryan Bingham and T Bone Burnett

Short Film (Animated)

  • Logorama

    Nicolas Schmerkin

Short Film (Live Action)

  • The New Tenants

    Joachim Back and Tivi Magnusson

Sound Editing

  • The Hurt Locker

    Paul N.J. Ottosson

Sound Mixing

  • The Hurt Locker

    Paul N.J. Ottosson and Ray Beckett

Visual Effects

  • Avatar

    Joe Letteri, Stephen Rosenbaum, Richard Baneham and Andrew R. Jones

Writing (Adapted Screenplay)

  • Precious: Based on the Novel ‘Push’ by Sapphire

    Screenplay by Geoffrey Fletcher

Writing (Original Screenplay)

  • The Hurt Locker

    Written by Mark Boal

What do you think of the Oscar winners last night? Leave your comments below!